

Wednesday 17 March 2021¹

MINUTES

Present: Dr Michael Spence, President and Provost (Chair).

Professor Bas Aarts; Dr Ali Abolfathi; Professor Daniel Alexander; Professor David Alexander; Mr Adnan Ali; Dr Mark Altaweel; Dr Seth Anziska; Ms Wendy Appleby; Dr Manuel Arroyo-Kalin; Professor David Attwell; Ms Marie Augustin; Dr Paul Ayris; Professor Jurg Bahler; Professor Maryse Bailly; Dr Emily Baker; Professor Torsten Baldeweg; Dr Simon Banks; Professor Yolande Barnes; Dr Sudeshna Basugupta; Professor Kathryn Batchelor; Dr Cecile Bats; Mr Ayman Benmati; Professor Michael Berkowitz; Professor Stephanie Bird; Professor Brad Blitz; Professor Douglas Bourn; Professor Rachel Bowlby; Professor Daniel Brett; Ms Annabel Brown; Professor Jamie Brown; Dr Nicole Brown; Professor Robert Brownstone; Professor Eric Brunner; Professor Stella Bruzzi; Dr Suzy Buckley; Professor Richard Bucknall; Professor Vishwanie Budhram-Mahadeo; Professor Neil Burgess; Professor Jonathan Butterworth; Mr Tadhg Caffrey; Professor Joseph Cain; Dr Jelena Calic; Professor Claire Callender; Professor Licia Capra; Professor Claire Carmalt; Dr Alisia Carnemolla; Professor Daren Caruana; Dr Declan Chard; Professor Kwang Choy; Dr Evangelia Chrysikou; Professor Olga Ciccarelli; Professor Beverley Clark; Dr Alun Coker; Professor Susan Collins; Professor Claire Colomb; Professor Anthony Costello; Ms Sonja Curtis; Professor Izzat Darwazeh; Professor Pamela Davidson; Dr Lucy Davies; Professor Sally Day; Professor Bert De Reyck; Professor Andreas Demosthenous; Dr Elton Dias; Professor Vanessa Diaz; Professor Snezana Djordjevic; Professor Annette Dolphin; Ms Dominique Drai; Professor Paulo Drinot; Professor Sandra Dunsmuir; Professor Ian Eames; Professor Piet Eeckhout; Professor Michael Ehrenstein; Ms Ecem Ergin; Professor Susan Evans; Ms Pascale Fanning-Tichborne: Ms Ava Fatah: Professor Andrew Fazakerley: Dr Liory Fern-Pollak; Professor Margot Finn; Professor Maria Fitzgerald; Mr James Ford; Professor Stuart Foster; Professor Eric Fraga; Professor Nicholas Freemantle; Dr Bettina Friedrich; Dr David Frost; Dr Martin Fry; Professor Mary Fulbrook; Professor Jonathan Gale; Dr Federico Galvanin; Dr Caroline Garaway; Dr Claire Garnett; Professor Haidy Geismar; Professor Mark Geller; Professor Dame Hazel Genn; Professor Adam Gibson; Professor Shirli Gilbert; Professor Deborah Gill; Professor

-

¹ This meeting was held via videoconference due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Sleeman; Professor Trevor Smart; Professor Sam Smidt; Mr Andy Smith; Professor Anthony Smith; Professor Pam Sonnenberg; Professor Eva Sorensen; Professor Sarah Spurgeon; Professor Kalia Srai; Professor Andrew Stahl; Dr Uta Staiger; Professor Philip Stanier; Professor Terence Stephenson; Professor Sacha Stern; Professor Claudio Stern; William Stewart; Professor Jakob Stougaard-Nielsen; Dr Sherrill Stroschein; Ms Joanna Stroud; Professor Adam Swift; Professor Matthew Sydes; Professor Nicolas Szita; Professor Irving Taylor; Mr Bryan Taylor; Professor Geraint Thomas; Professor Olga Thomas; Dr AaontfonDrEnanr wieDr

ProfessorJThnmane; Professor Ahe T; ProfessorJroea T;

42A Working Group on the definition of antisemitism

42A.1 The recommendations in the paper were the product of discussions between the Provost and GCAB. In those discussions, questions of ensuring a balance of expertise and a diversity of background and experience had been considered against an approach comprising self-nomination and election. Members were urged to be mindful of the need for diversity and balance when considering nominations.

42A.2

him to explain that they would not be prepared to nominate a member to the working group if the membership included any signatories of an open letter in support of Professor David Miller at Bristol University. The Provost felt that Jewish Society representation was crucial. Noting that the original resolution had been

-21], the Provost considered that he would have to take advice on the way forward if the Jewish Society found itself unable to make a nomination.

- 42A.3 The Chair of GCAB expressed a hope that the process would result in a membership capable of working constructively to fulfil the remit of the working group and of interacting effectively with the Provost and Council. The proposed constitution had been developed with a view to a balance of expertise, which could be judged by way of the usual mechanism of a brief statement from each candidate. It was proposed that nomination be open to academic colleagues who were not members of the Board.
- 42A.4 Members expressed contrasting views on the position taken by the Jewish Society. The Provost reminded Academic Board that it was being asked to approve the constitution of the working group, not its membership. The issue raised by the Jewish Society was not strictly relevant to the question of endorsing the proposed constitution.
- 42A.5 The Provost summarised the discussion and asked Academic Board for its confirmation that it accepted the proposed constitution of the Working Group. The secretary would issue a call for nominations in due course.

RESOLVED

42A.6 That the proposed constitution of the Working Group on the Definition of Antisemitism be approved.

42B Steering Committee on an Educational Action Plan

42B.1 At its meeting on 10 February 2021 Academic Board expressed strong support for the proposal to establish a steering committee to develop an educational action plan for combatting antisemitism within the university [AB Minute 25.10, 2020-21]. Professor Sasha Roseneil had taken on the role of chairing the steering committee in her capacity of Pro-Vice-Provost (Equity

and Inclusion). It was intended that the steering committee would meet on a monthly basis and would keep Academic Board updated on its work.

42B.2 In the ensuing discussion the following points were raised:

Members

Part III: Other Business for approval or Information

43 **MINUTES OF OTHER COMMITTEES** (Paper 5-35)

43.1 Academic Board received the minutes of other committees.

44 DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING

44.1 The next meeting would be held on 12 May 2021 at 2.05-4.00pm.

Nick McGhee Secretary to Academic Board Email: n.mcghee@ucl.ac.uk