Academic Board

Wednesday 12 May 2021¹

MINUTES

Present: Dr Michael Spence, President and Provost (Chair).

Dr Ali Abolfathi; Professor David Abraham; Mr Adnan Ali; Dr Mark Altaweel; Dr Seth Anziska; Ms Wendy Appleby; Dr Manuel Arroyo-Kalin; Professor Jonathan Ashmore; Professor David Atkinson; Professor David Attwell; Dr Paul Ayris; Professor Jurg Bahler; Professor Maryse Bailly; Dr Emily Baker; Dr Simon Banks; Professor Kathryn Batchelor; Professor Polina Bayvel; Professor Jonathan Bell; Professor Jeff Bezemer; Professor Robert Biel; Professor Stephanie Bird; Dr Matthew Blain; Professor Brad Blitz; Professor David Bogle; Professor Rachel Bowlby; Professor Annie Britton; Dr Geraldine Brodie; Professor Clare Brooks; Ms Annabel Brown; Dr Nicole Brown; Professor Jamie Brown; Professor Robert Brownstone; Dr Suzy Buckley; Professor Vishwanie Budhram-Mahadeo; Professor Neil Burgess; Dr Helene Burningham; Professor Gaetano Burriesci; Professor Jonathan Butterworth; Mr Tadhg Caffrey; Professor Nauro Campos; Professor Licia Capra; Professor Matteo Carandini; Professor Claire Carmalt; Professor Michael Cheetham; Professor Kwang Choy; Dr Evangelia Chrysikou; Professor Beverley Clark; Dr Alun Coker; Professor John Collinge; Professor Susan Collins; Professor Claire Colomb; Professor Barbara Conradt; Professor Anthony Costello; Professor Anna Cox; Ms Sonja Curtis; Dr Maria D'Argenio; Professor Anthony David; Dr Lucy Davies; Dr Nathan Davies; Professor Nathan Davies; Professor Sally Day; Professor Dina D'Ayala; Professor Michelle De Haan; Professor Bert De Reyck; Professor Rohan de Silva; Professor Marc Deisenroth; Professor Andreas Demosthenous; Professor Vanessa Diaz; Professor Paul Dodds; Ms Dominique Drai; Professor Paulo Drinot; Professor Ian Eames; Professor Frances Edwards; Professor Michael Ehrenstein; Professor Mark Emberton: Ms Ecem Ergin: Professor Joanna Evans: Dr Russell Evans; Professor Susan Evans; Ms Pascale Fanning-Tichborne; Professor Ariberto Fassati; Ms Ava Fatah; Professor Federico Federici; Dr Javier Fernandez Garcia; Professor Delmiro Fernandez-Reyes; Dr Liory Fern-Pollak; Professor Patrizia Ferretti; Professor Andrew Fisher; Professor Maria Fitzgerald; Mr James Ford; Professor Eric Fraga; Dr Bettina Friedrich; Dr Martin Fry; Professor Dorian Fuller; Professor Jonathan Gale; Professor Haidy Geismar; Professor Mark Geller;

¹ This meeting was held via videoconference due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Talvinder Sihra; Dr Bill Sillar; Professor Angus Silver; Professor Michael Singer; Professor Lucia Sivilotti; Professor Sam Smidt; Mr Andy Smith; Professor Anthony Smith; Professor Samuel Solomon; Professor Pam Sonnenberg; Professor Eva Sorensen; Professor Umber Soueid; Professor Catalina Spataru; Professor Kalia Srai; Dr Uta Staiger; Dr Karen Stepanyan; Professor Claudio Stern; Professor Sacha Stern; Professor Michael Stewart; Mr William Stewart; Dr Sherrill Stroschein; Ms Joanna Stroud; Professor Judith Suissa; Dr Bugra Susler; Mr Bryan Taylor; Professor Irving Taylor; Professor Francesco Saverio Tedesco; Professor Cheryl Thomas; Professor Geraint Thomas; Professor Olga Thomas; Professor Alan Thompson; Professor Jon Thomson; Dr Amy Thornton; Dr Eleanor Tillett; Professor Jordan Timothy; Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker; Professor John Tomaney; Professor Ahmed Toosy; Professor Jose Torero Cullen; Mr Martyn Towner; Professor Andrea Townsend-Nicholson; Professor Georgios Tsakos; Ms Helen Tsui; Professor Jayant Vaidya; Professor Liz Varga; Mr Clive Vassell; Professor Laura Vaughan: Professor Steven Vaughan: Professor Yiannis Ventikos: Dr Nalini Vittal: Dr Bella Vivat; Ms Yasmin Walker; Dr Ryan Wang; Professor Johanna Waters; Mr Patrick White; Ms Breege Whiten; Professor Amanda Williams; Professor Duncan Wilson; Professor James Wilson; Professor Stephen Wilson; Ms Izabella Wodzka; Professor Selina Wray; Professor Dominic Wyse; Professor Christopher Yeo; Dr Sophie Zadeh; Dr Stan Zochowski.

In attendance: Dr Clare Goudy; Ms Freya Markwell; Mr Nick McGhee (Secretary); Ms Magda Morawska; Ms Rachel Port; Ms Olivia Whiteley.

Apologies: Dr Declan Chard, Professor Andrew Davenport, Professor Simon Dixon, Professor Laurence Lovat, Professor Gesine Manuwald, Professor Moses Oketch, Dr Michaela Pollock, Professor John Potter, Dr Stephen Potts, Professor Elizabeth Shepherd, Professor Trevor Smart, Professor Sarah Walker, Professor Ananth Viswanathan.

Part I: Preliminary Formal Business

45 ACADEMIC BOARD MINUTES - 17 MARCH 2021

45.1 AB discussed the wording of Minute 42A.2 following

April. These reasons had included the fact that, on reflection, the Society considered that it would be unreasonable to appoint a member to a body the mandate of which conflicted with their own expressed preference to retain the IHRA definition. The reasons cited did not relate to the membership of the Working Group, which had not at that point been confirmed. As Academic Board had resolved to establish the Working Group, the Provost was of the view that it should proceed with its business, although it should be encouraged to ensure that the Jewish student voice was heard in that process.

Part II: Matters for Discussion

47 **PROVOST'S BUSINESS** (Paper 6-34)

- 47.1 The Provost highlighted the elements of the paper relating to business that would be coming to Academic Board in the near future, including a discussion about institutional strategy and consultation on plans for changes to the management committee structure.
- 47.2 One fundamental element of the strategy conversation would be discussions with the UCL community about the future size and shape of the university. This would need to take account of a number of interdependent considerations, including the need to provide sufficient physical capacity and maintain the estate, the role of online delivery, the composition of the student body, and the implications for the institution's financial sustainability.

48 **CODE OF CONDUCT FOR RESEARCH** (Paper 6-35)

48

- which had to be observed) would not be restated in the Code itself, but this would cross-refer the relevant policies and procedures where appropriate.
- 48.4 AB discussed the question of individual and institutional responsibility, for example in the context of the requirement

Part III: Other Business for approval or Information

51 **INNOVATION AND ENTERPRISE INTERIM STRATEGY** (Paper 6-39)

51.1 Academic Board received paper.

52 **LEAD OFFICER REPORT: CAREERS AND EMPLOYABILITY** (Paper 6-40)

52.1 Academic Board received the paper.

53 **ACADEMIC BOARD MEMBERSHIP UPDATE** (Paper 6-41)

53.1 Academic Board received the updated membership list.

54 **MINUTES OF OTHER COMMITTEES** (Paper 6-42)

54.1 Academic Board received the minutes of other committees.

55 DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING

55.1 2 June 2021 at 2.05-4.00pm.

Nick McGhee Secretary to Academic Board Email: n.mcghee@ucl.ac.uk