

Academic Board

Wednesday 10 February 2021¹

MINUTES

Present: Dr Michael Spence, President and Provost (Chair).

Professor Bas Aarts, Dr Ali Abolfathi, Professor Ibrahim Abubakar, Professor Joerg Albert, Mr Adnan Ali, Professor Lynn Ang, Dr Seth Anziska, Ms Wendy Appleby, Dr Manuel Arroyo-Kalin, Professor Jonathan Ashmore, Professor David Attwell, Ms Marie Augustin, Dr Paul Ayris, Dr Dominik Bach, Professor Jurg Bahler, Professor James Bainbridge, Dr Emily Baker, Professor Stavroula Balabani, Professor Maria Balda, Dr Simon Banks, Professor Yolande Barnes, Professor Earl Barr, Professor Kathryn Batchelor, Professor Gill Bates, Dr Cecile Bats, Professor Polina Bayvel, Professor Marco Beato, Professor Jonathan Bell, Professor Mette Berg, Professor Michael Berkowitz, Professor Andrew Bevan, Professor Jeff Bezemer, Professor Zoltan Biedermann, Professor Stephanie Bird, Dr Matthew Blain, Professor Brad Blitz, Professor Camillo Boano, Professor David Bogle, Professor Douglas Bourn, Professor Kate Bowers, Professor Rachel Bowlby, Professor Daniel Brett, Professor Annie Britton, Dr Geraldine Brodie, Professor Clare Brooks, Dr Nicole Brown, Ms Annabel Brown, Professor Rob Brownstone, Professor Eric Brunner, Professor Stella Bruzzi, Dr Suzy Buckley, Professor Vishwanie Budhram-Mahadeo, Professor Neil Burgess, Dr Helene Burningham, Professor Gaetano Burriesci, Professor Jon **Butterw**

Federici, Dr Liory Fern-Pollak, Professor Patrizia Ferretti, Professor Elena Fiddian-Qasmiyeh, Professor Andrew Fisher, Professor Yasmin Fisher, Professor Elizabeth Fisher, Professor Maria Fitzgerald, Mr James Ford, Professor Murray Fraser, Professor Nicholas Freemantle, Dr Bettina Friedrich, Professor Paul Fromme, Dr David Frost, Dr Martin Fry, Professor Mary Fulbrook, Professor Alison Fuller, Professor Dorian Fuller, Professor Jonathan Gale, Dr Federico Galvanin, Dr Caroline Garaway, Professor Tamar Garb, Professor Sebastian Gardner, Dr Claire Garnett, Professor Asterios Gavriilidis, Professor Dame Hazel Genn, Professor Alasdair Gibb, Professor Adam Gibson, Professor Shirli Gilbert, Professor Deborah Gill, Professor Derek Gilroy, Professor Paul Gilroy, Professor Xavier Golay, Professor Nikolaos Gonis, Dr Hugh Goodacre, Professor Eric Gordy, Mr James Gorridge, Dr Ryan Grammenos, Ms Emma Grant, Professor John Gray, Professor Francis Green, Ms Amanda Greene, Professor Alistair Greig, Professor Lee Grieveson, Professor Francois Guesnet, Professor David Guile, Dr Lucia Patrizio Gunning, Professor Patrick Haggard, Mr Martin Hall, Professor Michael Hanna, Mr Jesper Hansen, Professor Kenneth Harris, Professor Graham Hart, Professor Stephen L Hart, Professor Stephen M Hart, Professor John Hartley, Professor Jenny Head, Professor Jem Hebden, Professor Michael Heinrich, Professor Ian Hepburn, Professor Mark Hewitson, Professor Evangelos Himonides, Professor Aroon Hingorani, Professor Michael Hoare, Professor Daniel Hochhauser, Dr Christine Hoffmann, Dr Arne Hofmann, Professor Martin Holbraad, Professor Jane Holder, Professor Jonathan Holmes, Professor Andrew Hudson-Smith, Professor Alun Hughes, Professor John Hyman, Dr Dan Jagger, Professor Parmjit Jat, Mr Rafid Jawad, Professor Kathryn Jeffery, Professor Helene Joffe, Professor Cassidy Johnson, Professor Anthony Julius, Dr Thomas Kador, Professor Lily Kahn, Dr Jens Kandt, Professor Jian Kang, Ms Gunay Karimova, Mr Peter Kelly, Dr John Kelsey, Professor Anthony Kenyon, Mr Joshua Kerr, Professor Eli Keshavarz-Moore, Dr Maki Kimura, Professor John King, Dr Rachel King, Professor Robert Kleta, Professor Nikolaos Konstantinidis, Ms Edyta Kostanek, Dr Fiona Kyle, Professor Marie-Carine Lall, Dr Danielle Lamb, Professor Pier Lambiase, Professor Nick Lane, Professor Diana Laurillard, Professor Jonathan Ledermann, Professor George Letsas, Professor Paola Lettieri, Professor Tim Levine, Professor Caren Levy, Professor Wei Li, Professor Gloria Limb, Professor Christoph Lindner, Professor Allison Littlejohn, Professor Chaozong Liu, Professor David Lomas, Professor Rui Vicente Loureiro, Professor Laurence Lovat, Professor Robert Lowe, Professor Kai Luo, Dr Helga Lúthersdóttir, Ms Collette Lux, Ms Xuanyi Ma, Professor Ruth Mace, Dr Isabel Mackay, Professor Sandy MacRobert, Professor Mairead MacSweeney, Professor Haroun Mahgerefteh, Dr Merle Mahon, Ms Blathnaid Mahony, Professor Eleanor Main, Dr Elvira Mambetisaeva, Professor William Mandy, Professor Charles Marson, Professor John Martin, Professor Sarah Matthews, Professor John McArthur, Professor Robb McDonald, Professor Carolyn McGettigan, Professor Jacqueline McGlade, Dr Saladin Meckled-Garcia, Professor Susan Michie, Professor Neil Millar, Dr Thomas Miller, Professor Jenny Mindell, Professor Mark Miodownik, Professor John Mitchell, Professor Sara Mole, Ms

In attendance: Mr Douglas Bertram; Dr Clare Goudy; Mr Nick McGhee (Secretary); Ms Abigail Smith; Ms Kirsty Walker; Mr

Sean Wallis; Ms Olivia Whiteley.

Apologies: Professor Ann Blandford, Dr Geraldine Brodie, Professor Peter Earley, Professor Alissa Goodman, Professor Lesley Gourlay, Professor Helen Hackett, Professor Catherine Holloway, Professor Annemaree Lloyd-Zantiotis, Professor Rui Loureiro, Professor Jackie Masterston, Professor Andrew Nisbet, Professor Norbert Pachler, Professor Sir Michael Pepper, Professor Joerg-Matthias Pollok, Professor John Potter, Dr Stephen Potts, Professor Ley Sander, Professor Marc Serfaty, Professor Elizabeth Shepherd, Professor Jolene Skordis-Worrall, Professor Calatina Spataru, Professor Claire Thorne, Professor John Tomaney, Professor Bridget Wade, Professor Claudia Wheeler-Kingshott, Professor Bryan Williams, Professor Dominic Wyse.

Part I: Preliminary Formal Business

22 ACADEMIC BOARD MINUTES

22.1 The minutes of the AB meeting of 16 December 2020 [AB Minutes 15-21, 2020-21] were confirmed, subject to the following amendments to Minute 18 (addition of underlined text and deletion of strikethrough text):

the real issue was one of poor participation rather than the term limit. 8 of the 20 Council members were members of Academic Board;

<u>18.4</u> That Regulation for Management 3.3(d) be amended to read as <u>follows:</u>

Elected Members of the Academic Board under Statute 7(1)(C)(ii) shall remain members for a period of one year, or, if elected to fill a casual vacancy in the course of a year, for the remainder of that year, and shall be eligible for re-election.

Part II: Matters for Discussion

23 DFCJCGHBG'61 G=B9GG

23.1 Academic Board welcomed Dr Michael Spence to his first meeting as President and Provost. Dr Spence had circulated a report to Academic Board in advance of the meeting, saved with the1.98Qq3Q fe0y seeking to improve the coherence of the executive governance structure through

necessary in order to

of Israel was racist, even where the speaker considered that such a position accurately reflected their own lived experience, without risking an accusation of antisemitism;

IHRA Working Definition Recommendation

The expressed order of preference³, based on 334 votes, was:

- C. Replace (with the procedure precisely specified)
- D. Retract (and return to the Equality Act as a basis)
- B. Retain and amend (with the amendments precisely specified)
- A. Retain IHRA as is

Recommended to Council

25.11 That a newly constituted committee of AB should be charged to help