Academic Board

Wednesday 7 February 2024¹

MINUTES

Present: Dr Michael Spence, President and Provost (Chair).

Dr Ali Abolfathi; Professor Ibrahim Abubakar; Dr Simona Aimar; Jennifer Akinola; Dr Bojan Aleksov; Professor Daniel Alexander; Dr Tamara Alhilfi; Adnan Ali; Professor Nazif Alic; Professor Gareth Ambler; Professor Aida Andres; Professor Lynn Ang; Professor Haki Antonsson; Professor Kathleen Armour; Professor Tomaso Aste; Dr Glory Atilola; Professor Juliette Atkinson; Professor David Attwell; Professor Jan Axmacher; Dr Paul Ayris; Dr Sakiru Badmos; Professor Gianluca Baio; Professor Torsten Baldeweg; Professor Yolande Barnes; Professor Kathryn Batchelor; Dr Neha Batura: Dr Hanna Baumann: Professor Polina Bayvel: Professor Mette Berg: Preetika Bharti; Professor Zoltan Biedermann; Professor Stephanie Bird; Professor Martin Bobak; Robert Bodden; Professor Jan Boehm; Kate Boldry; Professor Noemie Bouhana; Dr Neus Bover Fonts; Dr Jeff Bowersox; Professor Alice Bradbury; Dr Raina Brands; Professor Annie Britton; Professor Jamie Brown; Professor Rob Brownstone; Professor Alex Bryson; Dr Suzy Buckley; Professor Vishwanie Budhram-Mahadeo; Professor Tim Button; Dr Boyana Buyuklieva; Professor Fabio Caccioli; Tadhg Caffrey; Professor Lisa Calderwood; Noël Caliste; Professor Licia Capra; Professor Matteo Carandini; Professor Tom Carlson; Professor Claire Carmalt; Professor

Serafini: Professor Mala Shah: Professor Lion Shahab: Professor Sonu Shamdasani: 3URIHVVRU 'DYLG 6KDQNV 'U \$OD¶D 6KHKDEL 'U OLUDQG Nicola Shelton; Professor Elizabeth Shepherd; Professor Lorraine Sherr; Dr Victoria Showunmi; Justin Siefker; Professor Talvinder Sihra; Professor Ricardo Silva; Professor Michael Singer; Professor Jolene Skordis-Worrall; Professor Joy Sleeman; Professor Trevor Smart; Professor Anthony Smith; Dr Hazel Smith; Issy Smith; Dr Daphne Sobolev; Professor Samuel Solomon; Professor Eva Sorensen; Professor Judy Stephenson; Professor Sacha Stern; Professor Fiona Stevenson; Professor Jack Stilgoe; Professor Sabine Storp; Professor Joshua Stott; Professor Jakob Stougaard-Nielsen; Dr Sherrill Stroschein; Dorota Studniarczyk; Dr Mike Sulu; Dr Bugra Susler; Professor Alastair Sutcliffe; Bryan Taylor; Dr Becky Taylor; Professor Irving Taylor; Professor Olga Thomas; Professor James Thomas; Professor Jon Thomson; Professor Ulrich Tiedau; Dr Eleanor Tillett; Dr Matteo Tiratelli; Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker; Simon To; Martyn Towner; Professor Andrea Townsend-Nicholson; Professor Kimberley Trapp; Professor Georgios Tsakos; Dr Helen Tsui; 3URIHVVRU & RúNXQ 7XQ0HU 'U 5LFKDUG 7XQZHOO 3URIH Professor Liz Varga; Professor Laura Vaughan; Dr Michael Veale; Dr Nalini Vittal; Dr Julia Wagner; Dr Zachary Walker; Professor Nicola Walshe; Breege Whiten; Professor Edward Wild; Professor Duncan Wilson; Georgina Wilson-Cousins; Dr Elliott Wimmer; Professor Matthew Wing; Dr Nick Witham; Michael Wozniak; Dr Punam Yadav; Dr Victoria Yorke-Edwards; Dr Anselm Zdebik; Professor Shi Zhou; Professor Stan Zochowski.

In attendance: Simon Buller; Aimie Chapple; Professor Parama Chaudhury; Natalie Connor; Sarah Cowls; Donna Dalrymple; Ian Dancy; Charu Gorasia; Dr Clare Goudy; Ed Hossack; Nick McGhee \$QJKDUDG 0LOHQNRYLF 7XUORJK 2 Pacey; Andy Smith; Lizzie Vinton; Kirsty Walker; Julie Whetton; Olivia Whiteley; Dr Kathryn Woods.

Part I: Preliminary Business

15 ACADEMIC BOARD MINUTES

15.1 The minutes of the meeting of 1 November 2023 [AB Minutes 1-14, 2023-24] were confirmed.

Part II: Matters for Discussion

16 **REPORT** (Paper 2-01)

16.1

strategic review; functions); (ii) giving staff the tools to do the job (including: delegations; digital strategy; estates masterplan; programme excellence [see Minute 17 below]); and (iii) planning for the future (including: admissions and student number planning; shape). Some of the elements listed in the paper constituted a single stage of a longer process, in which case further discussions at Academic Board would be required as the projects progressed.

16.3 In respect of the working groups mentioned in the paper, the Provost noted the need for the membership to reflect the nature of the project and to include not only experts on the issue in question, but also those who could give the **pe**rspective of staff with no particular vested interest in the matter.

16.

- b) A member raised the issue of inefficiencies in the use of energy on campus, including in new buildings. The Provost asked the Vice-President (Operations) to liaise with the member concerned on this question.
- c) In response to a question it was confirmed that UCL had no ongoing contracts with Fujitsu.
- d) In response to a query regarding the referencing of the IHRA definition of antisemitism in a letter to a student about an ongoing disciplinary case, the Provost confirmed that the approach taken had been reviewed to ensure that it was in accordance with UC / ¶ V S R V L W L R Q W K D W W K H G was to be used for educative purposes and did not supersede existing law and UCL policy.
- e) The Provost noted that progress was being made on the research contract approval process, and that UCL was in the process of developing clearer benchmarks and improvement customer satisfaction data.

17 **PROGRAMME EXCELLENCE** (Paper 2

- 19.3 Members considered that the process had been under-resourced and overhasty. Conceptualising it as a logistics challenge failed to take account of the pedagogic needs particular to the academic fields in question. Members suggested that the departments had been largely excluded from decisionmaking, with insufficient attention paid to departmental needs. The impacts of this had included the necessity of moving office hours for students online, and a failure to account for specific equality and diversity needs. A number of suggestions were made for the improvement of such projects in future, including a more strategic leadership role for the Dean and for HoDs, and the need for consultation not only to be carried out but listened to.
- 19.4 It was explained that the IoE masterplan itself had involved extensive staff and student engagement. The Masterplan Board had been chaired by the Dean and had included HoDs on the membership. However the relocation of the two departments from Woburn Square had been added to the Masterplan project in late 2020 and governed through the Project Board. In hindsight, it was considered that a separate governance process was likely to have been more effective.
- 19.5 In the course of discussion the following additional points were made:
 - a) The culture in commercial real estate was shifting away from µ W R S G R Z Q ¶ masterplans towards a greater focus on communication with end-users. Traditional project management practices were less important than day-to-day management of people in space, but this was inherently a resource-intensive area.
 - b) Academic staff should be involved in shaping the environment they were working in. Processes of this type should start with co-design, not simply consultation. This was challenging in view of the mismatch between the level at which a scare, common pool of resource had to be managed in order to work for the institution as a whole, and the interests of a specific community of co-designers. UMC had a role to play in addressing that gap.
 - c) It was suggested that BT/F1 12 Tf1 0 0 1 486.34 437.47 Tm0 g0 G[(d)6(a)-3(y)] TJET a