# Academic Board

## Wednesday 5 July 2023<sup>1</sup>

## MINUTES

Present: Dr Michael Spence, President and Provost (Chair)

Professor Bas Aarts; Aziz Abdulhadi; Hamza Ahmed; Jennifer Akinola; Dr Bojan Aleksov; Professor Mark Altaweel; Dr Jake Anders; Professor Lynn Ang; Dr Paul Ayris; Professor Kathryn Batchelor; Professor Polina Bayvel; Emily Bellshaw; Professor Mette Berg; Professor Stephanie Bird; Robert Bodden; Professor David Bogle; Dr Neus Bover Fonts; Dr Jeff Bowersox; Professor Stella Bruzzi; Professor Vishwanie Budhram-Mahadeo; Professor Richard Butterwick-Pawlikowski; Professor Jonathan Butterworth; Dr Boyana Buyuklieva; Professor Claire Cameron; Professor Nauro Campos: Professor Licia Capra: Professor Tom Carlson: Professor Claire Carmalt; Professor Madeline Carr; Professor Philip Cavendish; Professor Paola Ceccarelli; Dr Edith Chan; Dr Declan Chard; Professor Michael Cheetham; Dr Evangelia Chrysikou; Andrew Churchill; Dr Alun Coker; Kimberly Cornfield; Professor Anna Cox; Professor Sebastian Coxon; Dr Damian Cummings; Professor Pamela Davidson; Dr Nathan Davies; Professor Janice Derry; Professor Simon Dixon; Dr Megan Donaldson; Dominique Drai; Professor Ian Eames; Dr Karen Edge; Dr Ian Edwards; Professor Frances Edwards; Dr Alex Elwick; Professor Marc Esteve; Dr Lorenzo Fabrizi; Ava Fatah; Professor Anibal Fernandez; Professor Delmiro Fernandez-Reyes; Dr Liory Fern-Pollak; Dr Bettina Friedrich; Professor

Richard Mole: Professor Sara Mole: Professor Ruth Morgan: Professor Rear Admiral Neil Morisetti; Professor Emma Morris; Professor Gemma Moss; Dr Guy Moss; Professor Vivek Mudera; Professor John Mullan; Professor Veronique Munoz-Dardé; Professor Steven Murdoch; Professor Mirco Musolesi; Professor Florian Mussgnug; Dr Hélène Neveu Kringelbach; Dr Mark Newman; Professor Thanh Nguyen; Dr Mengyan Nie; Professor Mignon Nixon; Professor Martin Oliver; Professor Susan O Neill; Dr Ioannis Papaioannou; Professor Ivan Parkin; Dr Anne Peasey; Professor Paola Pedarzani; Professor Tejendra Pherali; Professor James Phillips; Professor Ann Phoenix; Professor Hynek Pikhart; Dr Anna Ponomareva; Dr Avanna Prevatt-Goldstein; Professor Slavo Radosevic; Professor Samantha Rayner; Professor Kieren Reed: Professor Geraint Rees: Professor Rebecca Rees: Jill Reese: Professor Antonella Riccio; Professor Mary Richardson; Professor Aeli Roberts; Dr Igor Rogelja; Professor Karin Ruggaber; Professor John Sabapathy; Dr Benet Salway; Professor Vieri Samek-Lodovici; Professor Alexander Samson; Dr Andrei Samsonov; Professor Ralf Schoepfer; Professor Ingrid Schoon; Professor Stephanie Schorge; Professor Eloise Scotford; Professor David Selviah; Professor Alessio Serafini; Professor Mala Shah; Professor David Shanks; Dr Ruth Siddall; Justin Siefker; Dr Samuel Sims; Dr Henrik Singmann; Professor Joy Sleeman; Professor Trevor Smart; Professor Anthony Smith; Dr Daphne Sobolev; Professor Samuel Solomon; Professor Eva Sorensen; Professor Vincent Sterk; Professor Sacha Stern; Professor Jack Stilgoe; Professor Jakob Stougaard-Nielsen; Dr Sherrill Stroschein; Dorota Studniarczyk; Professor Alastair Sutcliffe; Professor Matthew Sydes; Bryan Taylor; Professor Alan Thompson; Professor Claire Thomson; Professor Ulrich Tiedau; Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker; Professor Helena Titheridge; Professor Jose Torero Cullen; Dr Helen Tsui; Professor Liz Varga; Professor Laura Vaughan; Dr Nalini Vittal; Dr Julia Wagner; Dr Zachary Walker; Professor Li Wei; Patrick White; Breege Whiten; Professor Edward Wild; Professor Andrew Wills; Professor Duncan Wilson; Professor James Wilson; Michael Wozniak; Professor Paola Zaninotto; Dr Anselm Zdebik; Dr Davide Zecchin; Professor Stan Zochowski.

#### In attendance:

Professor Parama Chaudhury; Donna Dalrymple; Dr Clare Goudy; Natasha Lewis; Nick McGhee (secretary); Angharad Milenkovic; David Pacey; Kirsty Walker; Olivia Whiteley.

### 58 ACADEMIC BOARD MINUTES

58.1 The minutes of the Special meeting of 9 June 2023 [AB Minutes 44-45, 2022-23] and the meeting of 14 June 2023 [AB Minutes 46-57] were confirmed.

### 59 MATTERS ARISING

59.1 Minute 44, 9 June 2023: (Paper 7-01).

### Part II: Matters for Discussion

60 **REPORT** (Paper 7-01)

60.1 Noted.

## 61 SSEES AND THE FACULTY OF ARTS & HUMANITIES (Paper 7-02)

61.1 The Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities and the Director of the School of Slavonic and East European Studies (SSEES) introduced the proposal that SSEES be integrated into the Faculty of Arts and Humanities with effect from 1 September 2023.

61.2

rather than arts and humanities disciplines. The Academic Impact Statement currently before the Board was identified as the first written rationale for the proposal seen by SSEES staff. Members contrasted the process with that recently initiated in respect of a proposed structural change in the Faculty of Medical Sciences. The Provost noted that the SSEES proposal was fundamentally different in character to that in the Faculty of Medical Sciences as it related to the formal recognition of a relationship that had been functioning for some time, but acknowledged the case made by staff that the process was not as extensive or transparent as it might have been. 61.8 On the question of whether members supported the proposal, 156 members of Academic Board voted as follows:

Yes	60	38%
No	52	33%
Abstain	44	28%

#### 61.9

Provost noted that the conversation had drawn attention to the broader